Thursday, February 11, 2010

Christian Valentine's Day Craft

My preschooler collaged this together, inspired by Lacy's post here. My husband came home to this on the refrigerator and loved it.

"...the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.
Now those who belong to Christ have crucified their flesh with its passions and desires. If we live in the Spirit, let us also follow the Spirit. Let us not be conceited, provoking one another, envious of one another." ~ Galatians 5:22-26 NAB

The Catholic church teaches 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit:

Charity: Love for God and for others
Joy: Happiness in living the Christian life
Peace : Inner calmness, even in difficulties
Patience : Kindly putting up with the faults of others
Benignity (Kindness) : Sympathy and concern for the needs of others
Goodness : Giving good example for the needs of others
Longanimity (Longsuffering): Extraordinary patience in enduring suffering
Mildness : Being gentle in our words and deeds toward others
Faith (Fidelity) : Loyalty to God and the people we are committed to, such as one's parents, spouse, good friends
Modesty : Respecting ourselves and others in conversations, dress, etc.
Continency: Proper balance in our desire for pleasure
Chastity: Proper attitude toward others and control over our sexual desires

The 12 Fruits of the Holy Ghost are the result of the 7 Gifts of the Holy Ghost.

The 7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit are:
Fear of the Lord
Based on Isaiah 11:1-3

We'll probably do this next.


Cindy said...

Great post.

Lola said...

This is Beautiful.

Happy Valentines to you and your family.